alt text is missing

The purpose of the Bureau of the United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR) is to strengthen and facilitate timely and effective implementation of the Committee’s programme of work in accordance with its mandate and Governing Principles, decisions of the Committee, resolutions of the General Assembly and applicable United Nations regulations, rules and procedures.

The Bureau is comprised of all Officers, and the ex-officio advisers (Immediate past Chair of the Committee, the Secretary and the Deputy Secretary of the Committee).

The Committee elects five officers (a Chair, three Vice-Chairs and a Rapporteur) to serve for two UNSCEAR sessions. Before 2015, it elected only one Vice-Chair. The current officers are:

Current officers (69th and 70th sessions)

Chair of the Committee

alt text is missing

Sarah Baatout

Country: Belgium

Vice Chairs

alt text is missing

Anssi Auvinen

Country: Finland

alt text is missing

Aayda Al Shehhi

Country: United Arab Emirates

alt text is missing

Reiko Kanda

Country: Japan


alt text is missing

Carol Robinson

Country: Norway

Ex officio advisers

Past Chair

alt text is missing

Jing Chen

Country: Canada


Deputy Secretary

alt text is missing



List of Former Officers

Year Session Chair Vice-Chair(s) Rapporteur
2022-2023 69-70 J. Chen (Canada) Anna Friedl (Germany)
A. Auvinen (Finland)
L. Vasconcellos de Sá (Brazil)
S. Baatout (Belgium)
2020-2021 67-68 G. Hirth (Australia) J. Chen (Canada)
A. Friedl (Germany)
J. K. Lee (ROK)
A. Auvinen (Finland)
2019 66 G. Hirth (Australia) J. Chen (Canada)
A. Friedl (Germany)
J. K. Lee (ROK)
I. Lund (Sweden)
2017-2018 64-65 H. Vanmarcke (Belgium) P. Jacob (Germany)
P. Thompson (Canada)
M. Waligórski (Poland)
G. Hirth (Australia)
2015-2016 62-63 Y. Yonekura (Japan) J. Hunt (Brazil)
P. Jacob (Germany)
H. Vanmarcke (Belgium)
M. Waligórski (Poland)
2014 61 C.-M. Larsson (Australia) Y. Yonekura (Japan) M. Waligórski (Poland)
2013 60 C.-M. Larsson (Australia) E. Bédi (Slovakia) Y. Yonekura (Japan)
2012 59 W. Weiss (Germany) C.-M. Larsson (Australia) L. Moberg (Sweden)
2011 58 W. Weiss (Germany) C.-M. Larsson (Australia) M.A. Gomaa (Egypt)
2008-2010 56-57 N. Gentner (Canada) W. Weiss (Germany) M.A. Gomaa (Egypt)
2007 55 P. Burns (Australia) N. Gentner (Canada) W. Weiss (Germany)
2006 54 P. Burns (Australia) N. Gentner (Canada) C. Streffer (Germany)
2005 53 Y. Sasaki (Japan) P. Burns (Australia) N. Gentner (Canada)
2004 52 Y. Sasaki (Japan) R. M. Chatterjee (Canada) P. Burns (Australia)
2001-2003 50-51 J. Lipsztein (Brazil) Y. Sasaki (Japan) R. Chatterjee (Canada)
1999-2000 48-49 L. E. Holm (Sweden) J. Lipsztein (Brazil) Y. Sasaki (Japan)
1997-1998 46-47 A. Kaul (Germany) L. E. Holm (Sweden) J. Lipsztein (Brazil)
1995-1996 44-45 L. V. Pinillos-Ashton (Peru) A. Kaul (Germany) G. Bengtsson (Sweden)
1993-1994 42-43 E. Létourneau (Canada) L. V. Pinillos-Ashton (Peru) G. Bengtsson (Sweden)
1991-1992 40-41 J. Maisin (Belgium) E. Létourneau (Canada) L. Pinillos-Ashton (Peru)
1989-1990 38-39 K. Lokan (Australia) J. Maisin (Belgium) E. Létourneau (Canada)
1987-1988 36-37 B. Lindell (Sweden) K. Lokan (Australia) J. Maisin (Belgium)
1985-1986 34-35 T. Kumatori (Japan) A. Kaul (Germany) A. Hidayatalla (Sudan)
1983-1984 32-33 D. Beninson (Argentina) T. Kumatori (Japan) A. Hidayatalla (Sudan)
1981-1982 30-31 Z. Jaworowski (Poland) D. Beninson (Argentina) T. Kumatori (Japan)
1979-1980 28-29 F. Stieve (Germany) Z. Jaworowski (Poland) D. Beninson (Argentina)
1977-1978 26-27 M. Klímek (Czechoslovakia) F. Stieve (Germany) K. Sundaram (India)
1975-1976 24-25 F. H. Sobels (Belgium) M. Klímek (Czechoslovakia) Z. Jaworowski (Poland)
1974 23 L. R. Caldas (Brazil) F. H. Sobels (Belgium) C. Acevedo (Peru)
1972 22 L. R. Caldas (Brazil) F. H. Sobels (Belgium) A. Nelson (Sweden)
1971 21 B. Lindell (Sweden) F. H. Sobels (Belgium) L.R. Caldas (Brazil)
1970 20 B. Lindell (Sweden) V. Zelený (Czechoslovakia) L.R. Caldas (Brazil)
1968-1969 18-19 G.C.Butler (Canada) B. Lindell (Sweden) V. Zelený (Czechoslovakia)
1966-1967 16-17 A. Gopal Ayengar (India) G. C. Butler (Canada) -
1964-1965 14-15 D. J. Stevens (Australia) A. Gopal Ayengar (India) -
1963 12-13 D. Beninson (Argentina) M. E. El-Kharadly (Egypt) -
1961-1962 10-11 F. Hercik (Czechoslovakia) K. Tsukamoto (Japan) -
1960-1961 8-9 M. Martínez-Báez (Mexico) F. Hercik (Czechoslovakia) -
1960 7 R. Sievert (Sweden) E. E. Pochin (U.K.) -
1958-1959 5-6 R. Sievert (Sweden) V. R. Khanolkar (India) -
1957-1958 3-4 Z. Bacq (Belgium) E. A.Watkinson (Canada) -
1956 2 C. Chagas (Brazil) Z. Bacq (Belgium) -
1956 1 C. E. Eddy (Australia) C. Chagas (Brazil) -